Thank you for your interest in the Florence Fire/EMS Department. The department was first organized by concerned citizens as an all-volunteer fire organization in 1936. Over the years, the department has grown to be one of the area’s most progressive first response agencies, servicing the fifth largest concentration of population within the Commonwealth of Kentucky. The jurisdiction covered by Florence Fire/EMS includes; the City of Florence, Kentucky proper and the unincorporated area of Boone County within the Florence Fire Protection District. The US Census indicates that the population served by our department is now in excess of 45,000 citizens in an area encompassing over 21 square miles.

In addition to basic fire suppression and Advanced Life Support, Florence Fire/EMS provides a wide variety of services including public fire education, plan review, code compliance inspections, heavy rescue and car seat installation. These services are provided utilizing a dedicated and professional staff of 56 career firefighters, 22 stipend volunteer firefighters and two civilian personnel. The department operates out of three stations. Florence Fire/EMS answers approximately 6600 EMS and 2500 fire/rescue related calls annually.

The department maintains an ISO rating of Class 2 for the city proper and most areas within the fire protection district. Some outlying areas maintain a Class 3 rating. An ISO Class 2 rating in only awarded to the top one half of 1% of fire departments across the entire nation.

We hope you find the information contained within the Fire/EMS section of the City of Florence website helpful and that it provides you with an insight into our department and its operations. Florence Fire/EMS continues to strive to provide the very best service possible at a reasonable cost to our citizens. If you require any additional information or have any questions, please contact: Chief Scott Knoll


Fire/EMS Chief
Scott Knoll

Florence Fire/EMS Headquarters
Claxon Station
1152 Weaver Road
Florence, KY 41042

Phone: (859) 647-5660
Fax: (859) 647-5670

Administrative Hours
8:30AM - 5:00PM